You can trust the specialists to look after all your eye care needs

frontKent Eye Care is a family run specialist independent Optometrists & Opticians which has been established for over fifteen years. We are very proud of our home visiting domiciliary service which provides eye care for patients across Kent. Dr John Gurney and Claire Forrester started their business learning that trust and good sound honest advice is key to excellent service. Eleven years ago we established a community practice with trust and honesty as our main objective. We are constantly striving to improve the high standard of clinical care and advice we are able to provide to all our patients.

Dr John Gurney as the senior clinical specialist optometrist leads by example by keeping up to date with all the latest ophthalmology and optometric developments in terms of education and equipment. This allows us to be in the privileged position of being one of only two specialist optometry practices in the whole of Kent. We have very close links with local GPs and Hospital consultant ophthalmologists, and provide an emergency acute ophthalmology service(APCOS) looking after 62 GP surgeries and their patients in the local area. Due to Johns wealth of clinical expertise he is also Clinical Advisor to the General Optical Council the regulatory body for Optometrists and Dispensing Opticians in the UK.  All our expert, friendly and helpful staff at Kent Eye Care are dedicated to providing the highest possible quality eye care and service for all the family.

unnamedBlepharitis Treatment Avaliable

Our Specialist practice is able to offer the first and only treatment for Blepharitis provided by clinicians – Click the following link for more information of the treatment available.

For more information please see


Acute Primary Care Ophthalmology Service

Our Specialist Practice is proud to be able offer
The Acute Primary Care Ophthalmology Service (APCOS)



This includes 3D Spectral Domain Optical Coherence Tomography (SD-OCT)

We are registered with the following authorities


Comments are closed